Featured Author of the Month: 'Madeleine Roux' Asylum

  • Sunday, 01 December 2013 00:00
  • Published in Featured Authors
  • Bookmark and Share

madeleine-roux-asylumFeatured Author of the Month: 'Madeleine Roux' December 2013

Asylum
by Madeleine Roux

Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-novel perfect for fans of the New York Times bestseller Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, New Hampshire College Prep is more than a summer program—it's a lifeline. An outcast at his high school, Dan is excited to finally make some friends in his last summer before college. But when he arrives at the program, Dan learns that his dorm for the summer used to be a sanatorium, more commonly known as an asylum. And not just any asylum—a last resort for the criminally insane.

As Dan and his new friends, Abby and Jordan, explore the hidden recesses of their creepy summer home, they soon discover it's no coincidence that the three of them ended up here. Because the asylum holds the key to a terrifying past. And there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

Featuring found photos of unsettling history and real abandoned asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Madeleine Roux's teen debut, Asylum, is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity.

Reviews:

“The plentiful illustrations both advance the story line and immeasurably contribute to the spooky atmosphere. With its abundant jump scares, horror readers and fans of the TV show American Horror Story will delight in the fast-paced plot.” -- Booklist

“Madeleine Roux’s Asylum takes the fondest dream of our collective nerdy childhood and handily turns it into the scariest collective nightmare.” -- Tor.com

“I started reading this one at my desk in broad daylight and still got goose bumps.” -- Glamour

Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: HarperCollins (August 20, 2013)
Language: English

About the Author
Madeleine Roux is the author of Allison Hewitt Is Trapped and Sadie Walker Is Stranded. She is a Minnesota native and proud graduate of Beloit College. Madeleine lives and works in California.

Check Her out on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4051426.Madeleine_Roux

Asylum

Author: Madeleine Roux
Manufacturer: HarperCollins
List Price: $17.99
Amazon - Buy New For: $5.99 | Used For: $1.95
More Info...
Editorial Review:

Madeleine Roux's New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called "a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place." Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline's twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum's dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

Don't miss Madeleine Roux's all-new gothic horror novel, House of Furies.



Click Here for Amazon Reviews


Rate this item
(1 Vote)
  • Last modified on Thursday, 06 February 2014 18:15
  • font size
Bob Suggs

I currently live in Pensacola, FL with my wife and a little cat monster named "Rocky".

Want something plugged?  Contact me at [email protected]